First integrated workshop on neutron diffuse scattering from single crystals (Satellite to Neutron Scattering User Meeting)


The purpose of the workshop is to bring together expertise to investigate synergistic approaches for neutron and X-ray investigation of nuclear and magnetic diffuse scattering, and macrostructural dynamics. It will focus on single crystal diffuse scattering to educate and update the user community of the newly available and emerging diffuse scattering capabilities, data processing and analysis options that are currently exercised on a per-data-set basis. Furthermore, advanced computational modelling techniques, including reverse Monte Carlo and machine learning, will be presented.

A tutorial part will provide the participants with tools to enable them to work with their single crystal diffuse scattering data. It will start with finding the orientation of the crystal and then continue to create 3D volumes, 2D slices and 1D cuts in reciprocal space for visualization. It will introduce methods for processing the data to obtain local deviation from the average structure known (3D-δPDF). Finally, visualizing the full 3D volumes with Paraview will be shown. 

Confirmed Speakers:

  • James Martin (NCSU)
  • James Weng (NCSU)
  • Feng Ye (ORNL)
  • Nicholaj Roth (Aarhus University)
  • Christina Hoffmann (ORNL)
  • Zach Morgan (MTU)
  • Ray Osborne (ANL)
  • Joseph Paddison (Cambridge, UK)
  • Stefan Rosenkranz (ANL)
  • Ross Whitfield (ORNL)
  • Alan Tennant (ORNL / UTK)
  • Anjana Samarakoon (ORNL)
  • Jeremy Smith (UTK)
  • Xiaojian Bai (Georgia Tech)
  • Michael Wall (LANL)

Please check the Agenda for the complete program

This workshop is a satellite to the 2019 Neutron Scattering User Meeting. 
Read more about the meeting or register here.


  • Ada Sedova
  • Anatoliy Senyshyn
  • Anjana Samarakoon
  • Antonio Moreira dos Santos
  • Bhupendra Karki
  • Brian Kettell
  • Bryan Chakoumakos
  • Chathurika Kosgallana
  • Christina Hoffmann
  • Damilola Akamo
  • Duncan Moseley
  • Dustin Gilmer
  • Emily Kroll
  • Fankang Li
  • Ganesh Pokharel
  • Hasitha Suriya Arachchige
  • Hui Wang
  • Igor Gussev
  • James Kammert
  • James Weng
  • Jaroslaw Majewski
  • Jay Jay Billings
  • Jayme Alger
  • Jim Martin
  • Jingxuan Ding
  • Joe Paddison
  • Joe Zhou
  • Junjie Yang
  • Junjie Zhang
  • Ke An
  • Kuo Li
  • Lisa Bain
  • Lisa Debeer-Schmitt
  • Manjula Senanayake
  • Marcus Daum
  • Matthew Krogstad
  • Matthew Tucker
  • Matthias Frontzek
  • Mehmet Hazar Seren
  • Michael Wall
  • Nikolaj Roth
  • Olena Korotych
  • Olivier Delaire
  • Palani Raja Jothi
  • Puspa Upreti
  • Qing Huang
  • Ryoji Kiyanagi
  • Shalika Meedin
  • Shantanu Shukla
  • Steffen Saubert
  • Stephan Rosenkranz
  • Suhas Somnath
  • Sunil Karna
  • Tongxin Zhou
  • Tyson Lanigan-Atkins
  • Valerie Garcia-Negron
  • W. Adam Phelan
  • William Ratcliff
  • Xianyang Fang
  • Xing He
  • Yadu Krishnan Sarathchandran
  • Zengquan Wang
  • Zhiqiang Cao
The agenda of this meeting is empty