The 77th Annual Pittsburgh Diffraction Conference

Iran Thomas Auditorium (Building 8600)

Iran Thomas Auditorium

Building 8600

Spallation Neutron Source Oak Ridge National Laboratory

You’re invited to the 77th Annual Pittsburgh Diffraction Conference at Oak Ridge National Laboratory (ORNL), which is located in Oak Ridge, Tennessee (near Knoxville). The conference will take place over three days and feature sessions focused on all areas of diffraction, from powders to protein crystals. Topics will include neutron, X-ray, and electron diffraction, total scattering, magnetic scattering, and small angle scattering. The registration fee for the conference is $100 which includes lunch on October 25th and 26th and dinner on October 25th. Abstract submission is free.  

The opening reception takes place on the evening of Thursday, October 24, while a poster session and conference banquet will be on Friday, October 25. A full day of scientific sessions on Saturday, October 26 will include the Pittsburgh Diffraction Business Meeting and the poster awards before the conference closes at 5:00 p.m. 

The Chung Soo Yoo Award, established by the Pittsburgh Diffraction Society to honor Dr. Yoo’s memory, and a $400 cash prize will be given to the graduate student having the best poster presentation at the conference.

Registration has ended for this event. On-site registration will NOT be available.

Confirmed Speakers
Jahaun Azadmanesh, (University of Nebraska)
Emil S. Bozin (Brookhaven National Laboratory)
Theodore Betley, (Harvard University)
Chris Davies, (Medical University of South Carolina)
Robert Von Dreele, (Argonne National Lab)
Fred Dyda, (National Institutes of Health, NIDDK)
Martin Egli, (Vanderbilt University)
Jaime Fernandez-Baca, (Oak Ridge National Laboratory)
Dustin Gilbert, (University of Tennessee)
Margarida Henriques, (CAS Institute of Physics)
Ken Herwig, (Oak Ridge National Laboratory)
Patrick Holland, (Yale University)
Robert Koch (Brookhaven National Laboratory)
Joseph Kolis, (Clemson University)
Cora Lind Kovacs, (University of Toledo)
Patricia Langan, (Lentigen Technologies)
Jeremy Lohman, (Purdue University)
Rebecca McAuliffe (Oak Ridge National Laboratory)
Leonard Mueller, (University of California, Riverside)
Tim Mueser, (University of Toledo)
Robert Philips, (University of Georgia)
Raktim Roy, (The Scripps Research Institute)
Ella Mara Schmidt, (Friedrich-Alexander Universität Erlangen-Nürnberg)
David J. Schuller, (Cornell University)
Michael Shatruk, (Florida State University)
Timothy Stachowski, (Hauptman Woodward Institute)
Corey Thompson, (Purdue University)
B.C. Wang, (University of Georgia)
Weiwei Xie, (Louisiana State University)
Haidong Zhou, (University of Tennessee)

Please Note: Advance registration is required to attend the Pittsburgh Diffraction Conference, because of visitor restrictions at Oak Ridge National Laboratory, a US Department of Energy facility. Registration has ended. On-site registration will NOT be available.

All attendees are required to register and provide their name, affiliation, and contact information. Those without an ORNL Visitor Badge will receive an email asking them to submit their personal information to obtain a Visitor Badge. Access to ORNL requires valid photo identification (see below).

Photo IDs: Please be aware that effective March 30, 2015 ORNL became fully compliant with the REAL ID Act. This Act requires that anyone accessing a Federal Facility, which ORNL is, must present a compliant form of identification. If you are from one of the noncompliant states, you will need to provide another form of approved identification. Here is a list of acceptable identification if you are from one of these states. Foreign national visitors must always present a Visa and Passport upon arrival at the ORNL Visitor Center.

A block of  rooms has been reserved at the ORNL guesthouse (865-576-8101) with more rooms available at local hotels. The conference venue will be the Spallation Neutron Source (SNS) which is onsite at the ORNL complex and just a short walk from the Guest House.

Check out our related events:

Magnetic Structure Determination from Neutron Diffraction Data Oct. 21–23

Workshop on Symmetry and Superspace Approach to Modulated Crystal Structures Oct. 23–24


Leighton Coates
The agenda of this meeting is empty