May 3 – 4, 2017
Spallation Neutron Source
US/Eastern timezone


DISCOVER Beamline Workshop

May 3-4, 2017

Spallation Neutron Source

Building 8600, C-156 (unless otherwise noted)

Oak Ridge National Laboratory

Updated: May 2, 2017

Wednesday, May 3

9:00 AM – 9:15 AM

Welcome and Workshop Goals

Paul Langan and Richard Ibberson

9:15 AM – 9:45 AM

DISCOVER Beamline Concept

Katharine Page

9:45 AM – 10:15 AM

Opportunities in Materials Chemistry

Patrick Woodward

10:15 AM – 10:45 AM

Coffee Break

10:45 AM – 11:15 AM

Opportunities in Quantum Condensed Matter

Tyrel McQueen

11:15 AM – 12:00 PM

Working Groups A: Science Topics

C-156, C-152

12:00 PM – 1:30 PM

Lunch: Instrument Upgrades , Improvements, & Sample Environment Needs C-156 & C-150

Ashfia Huq, Matthew Tucker, Simon Kimber and Daniel Olds

1:30 PM – 2:00 PM

Preliminary Engineering Design and Neutronics Calculations

Ken Herwig

2:00 PM – 2:30 PM

What’s Ahead in Software and Data

Matthew Tucker

3:00 PM – 3:30 PM

Coffee Break

3:30 PM - 3:45 PM

Workshop Photograph

3:45 PM – 4:45 PM

Software, Instrumentation, & Sample Environments Discussion


4:45 PM - 6:00 PM

Working Groups B: Software, Instrumentation, & Sample Environments:  AG-06, C-156, C-152

Working Groups A: Science Topics:  AG-05 & C-482

6:30 PM –9:00 PM

Off-site Dinner at Calhoun's Melton Lake, Oak Ridge, TN

"Adventures in Neutron Diffraction"

Simon Billinge


Thursday, May 4

9:00 AM – 9:15 AM

Instrument Advisory Team and Beamline Development Proposal

Katharine Page and Patrick Woodward

9:15 AM – 10:15 AM

Open Floor Discussion (1-2 slide presentations)


10:15 AM – 10:45 AM

Coffee Break

10:45 AM – 12:00 PM

Working Groups

C-156, C-152, AG-07, C-464, C-482

(rooms reserved from 10:00 AM - 12:00 PM)

12:00 PM – 1:00 PM

Lunch, Working Group Summaries



Session A Working Groups

Bold participants will continue working in session A groups during session B

Materials Chemistry: Patrick Woodward (Room C-156 morning, C-482 afternoon, C-482 Thursday)

Simon Billinge, Craig Bridges, Hans Christen, Michelle Dolgos, John Evans, Andrew Goodwin, Ashfia Huq, Peter Khalifah,  Jue Liu, Daniel Olds, Katharine Page, Thomas Proffen, Efrain Rodriguez, Matthew Tucker, Tedi-Marie Usher-Ditzian

Quantum Condensed Matter: Tyrel McQueen (Room C-152 morning, AG-05 afternoon, C-152 Thursday)

Emil Bozin, Brian Chakoumakos, Jiaqiang Yan, Simon Kimber, Despina Louca, Mark Lumsden, Marshall McDonald, John Mitchell, Xin Tony Tong, Chris Weibe, Yuanpeng Zhang


Session B Working Groups  

Software: Matthew Tucker (C-152 Wednesday, C-464 Thursday)

Simon Billinge, Andrew Goodwin, Peter Khalifah, Marshall McDonald, Thomas Proffen, Tedi-Marie Usher Ditzian

Instrumentation: Ken Herwig (AG-06 Wednesday, AG-07 Thursday)

Hans Cristen, Thomas Huegle, Ashfia Huq, Katharine Page, Xin Tony Tong, Chris Weibe, Yuenpeng Zhang

Sample Environments: Simon Kimber (C-156 Wednesday, C-156 Thursday)

Brian Chakoumakos, Craig Bridges, Michelle Dolgos, Mark Lumsden, Despina Louca, Daniel Olds


Note: Although we are designating assignments in order to broadly cover topics and expertise areas, you will have opportunities to spend time with all working groups and discussion leaders during the workshop.